Monday, 18 November 2019

Mizzima News

Home > News > Inside Burma > Parliament approves ministry realignments

Parliament approves ministry realignments

Burma’s Parliament on Tuesday approved the government’s reshuffle of ministries, increasing the number to 36, including six ministers located in the President’s Office.
The Burmese Parliament building in Naypyitaw. Photo: Pyithu Hluttaw
Following the adoption of the proposal, President Thein Sein has yet to announce details of the ministerial posts to be filled.

There were 34 ministries with 30 ministers when the new government took office on March 30, 2011.

Over the period of the government's more than one-year tenure, the Ministries of Industry No. 1 and 2 were combined into one as the Ministry of Industry.

The ministry changes were seen as part of Thein Sein’s “Second Wave” of reform process, which is designed to strengthen the government’s reformist credentials, and move ministers who are reformist into slots held by more conservative ministers from the former military government.

In the present reformation of the cabinet, Ministries of Electric Power No. 1 and 2 were combined into one as the Ministry of Electric Power, while the Ministry of Industrial Development was abolished.

In the government's major cabinet reshuffle over the last several days, nine ministers have been reassigned, mainly with four transferred to the President's Office and one, Aung Kyi, named as the new Minister of Information, replacing Kyaw Hsan, who was transferred to the Ministry of Cooperatives as minister.

The major cabinet reshuffle took place 12 days after Tin Aung Myint Oo, who resigned from the post of  vice president for health reasons, was replaced by Nyan Tun, the former Naval Chief, after approval of the Parliament.
Last Updated ( Wednesday, 05 September 2012 13:58 )  

Download Mobile App


Who is Online

We have 21 guests online


Amount in USD:

Follow Mizzima on

Follow Mizzima on TwitterFollow Mizzima on Facebook