Thursday, 14 November 2019

Mizzima News

Home > News > Inside Burma > Three new curfews in Rakhine State

Three new curfews in Rakhine State

Rangoon (Mizzima) – Burmese authorities have added three new dusk-to-dawn curfews in Kyauktaw, Minbya and Mrauk-U in Sittwe District in Rakhine State since Wednesday, a Kyauktaw administrative staff member told Mizzima.
Two men sit near the the remnants of their homes in Sittwe, the capital of Burma's western Rakhine State, following sectarian violence in June. Photo: IRIN

The curfews are effective from 7 p.m. to 5 a.m. in Kyauktaw, and from 10 p.m. to 4 a.m. in Minbya and Mrauk-U.
Officials were preparing to donate food, medicine and money to Gokphtaung village, which was heavily damaged by armed clashes last week, according to Myat Hla, the secretary of Rakhine National Charity Group.
On August 4 to 5, more than 100 houses in Gokpihtaung village, located file miles from Kyauktaw, were set fire.

Meanwhile, the renewed violence reportedly claimed seven people dead in five villages located about 80 miles from Kyauktaw, in addition to dozens of burned homes and other property, according to local residents.
On June 8, the government imposed curfews in Sittwe, Buthidaung, Maungdaw, Kyaukphyu, Ramree and Thandwe.

On June 10, Burmese President Thein Sein declared a state of emergency in Rakhine State. Official figures say up to 80 people have died since the community unrest began in June.
Last Updated ( Friday, 10 August 2012 18:54 )  

Download Mobile App


Who is Online

We have 68 guests online


Amount in USD:

Follow Mizzima on

Follow Mizzima on TwitterFollow Mizzima on Facebook