Friday, 15 November 2019

Mizzima News

Home > News > Inside Burma > Shwe Mann reaffirms strong Sino-Burma ties

Shwe Mann reaffirms strong Sino-Burma ties

Chiang Mai (Mizzima) – Burmese parliamentary leader Shwe Mann has reassured Chinese officials that Sino-Burmese relations will not be affected by overtures from Western countires, including the U.S.

Shwe Mann, the speaker of the Lower House of the Burmese Parliament and U.S. Secretary of State Hillary Clinton, at the Parliamentary Compound in Naypyitaw on Thursday, December 1, 2011. Photo: MizzimaLower House Speaker Shwe Mann told the Chinese National People’s Congress Chairman Wu Bangguo that any cooperation with the West that harmed China “would not be acceptable,” Xinhua news agency reported.

Immediately following U.S. Secretary of State Hillary Clinton’s visit to Burma in November, a series of Burmese officials have visited China to reassure its most influential ally in terms of financial and political support.

Wu Bangguo brought up Burma’s suspension of the Myitsone Dam project in northeastern Burma, saying that he hoped construction on the Chinese-funded hydropower dam could be resumed at a later date or a settlement could be negotiated. Burmese President Thein Sein suspended the dam project in September 2011 after widespread protests by Burmese environmental activists and other civic groups.

Shwe Mann said Burma had learned lessons from the Myitsone Dam project, and he promised to continue other Sino-Burma joint projects such as the Kyaukphyu deep-sea port and petroleum and natural gas pipelines, and other infrastructure projects including railroads and highways.

Also in the forefront of talks was China’s help in organizing parliamentary procedures, including exchange programs between parliamentary lawmakers from the two countries. Shwe Mann also requested technical cooperation in the areas of the economy, finance, science and technology.

Shwe Mann was accompanied by Lower House  committee chairmen including Thein Zaw, Hla Myint Oo, Thura Aung Ko, Maung Maung Swe, Kyi Min and local assembly speakers Sein Tin Win and San Tints.
Last Updated ( Tuesday, 28 February 2012 11:49 )  

Download Mobile App