Thursday, 21 November 2019

Mizzima News

Home > News > Inside Burma > NLD reshuffles senior leadership

NLD reshuffles senior leadership

Chiang Mai (Mizzima) – Aung San Suu Kyi was named chair of the National League for Democracy central executive committee and Tin Oo chair of the NLD patron committee on Monday.
Suu Kyi and Tin Oo celebrate the unveiling of a new NLD party sign at the party's headquarters in Rangoon. Photo: MizzimaThe executive committee named Nyan Win, Ohn Kyaing, Han Thar Myint, Tun Tun Hein, Win Myint and May Win Myint as members of the reformed central executive committee and selected Win Tin, Than Tun, Nyunt Wai and Hla Pe as members of the reformed patron committee.
“In keeping with the political party registration law, we had to submit an organization structure of the party when we registered the party,” Nyan Win said.
The NLD was initially formed in September 1988, but it has not been able to hold a [nationwide] party conference until its re-registration was approved.

Party application forms have been distributed to states and regions, in an effort to strengthen the party and gear up for political campaigns.
The NLD will contest all 48 open parliamentary seats, including four seats in Naypyitaw, in the coming April 1 by-election.

In preparation for its campaigns, Mandalay Region NLD canvassing committee member Dr. Zaw Myint Maung said NLD officials discussed plans for the by-elections on Monday. In selecting candidates, priority will be given to those who have worked to support democracy, who have a good education background, ethnic people, women and young people, officials said.
NLD candidates who will seek open seats include: in Kachin State, Dashi La Sai will stand for a seat in Hpakant Township constituency; Tun Kyi ( a former elected-MP in the 1990 general election) will contest in a Mogaung Township constituency; and Kachin State canvassing official Ba Myint will stand for a seat in Bhamo Township.
Magway Region canvassing committee chairman Hlaing Aye has been nominated to run as an NLD candidate in a Pakokku Township constituency; Aung Shin has been nominated as a candidate for a Pearl Township constituency in Sagaing Region; and central court lawyer Khin Maung Latt has been nominated as candidate for a Myanaung Township constituency in Irrawaddy Region.
The NLD is preparing to publish the first edition of its new “D-Wave” journal on January 16, under the patronship of senior leader Win Tin. Win Tin said the journal will include articles by foreign and local columnists including Aung San Suu Kyi, plus information about party policies and activities.
Last Updated ( Monday, 09 January 2012 21:57 )  

Download Mobile App