Friday, 15 November 2019

Mizzima News

Home > News > Inside Burma > Parliament changes names of villages in Naypyitaw; reconstitutes townships

Parliament changes names of villages in Naypyitaw; reconstitutes townships

Rangoon (Mizzima) – MPs attending a joint session of the Burmese Parliament on Monday said Speaker Khin Aung Myint announced the new names of two villages in Naypyitaw District and other village names and townships were changed or reorganized.

Meelaung Kone village in Leway township was renamed Shwepyi Aye and Aung Kalane village was changed to Ayechan Thar in Naypyitaw District.

A joint meeting of the Burmese Parliament in Naypyitaw, the capital  Photo: Mizzima
In other action, the Parliament changed the name of the Forest Ministry to Environment Protection and Forest Ministry.

“In fact, environmental protection is a wide ranging subject and not solely related to the Forest Ministry only. It should constitute a separate committee with delegates sent by various ministries and departments in Parliament,” MP Khai Maung Yee of the New National Democracy Party told Mizzima.

Other name changes included a village in Pyinoolwin District, Mandalay Region, five villages in Myittha Township, Kyaukse District. Two villages in Pyawbwe Township were reconstituted by Parliament. Similarly Aungban in Kalaw Township in Shan State was constituted as a township and Hopong Township was reconstituted with 292 villages from 346 villages previously. Fifty-four villages from the township were deleted from the list.

Similarly Maukme Township was reconstituted with 103 villages from 202 villages, and villages in Sagaing, Bago, Mon and Irrawaddy regions and states were also reconstituted.

The joint session of Parliament concluded at 12 noon and sessions of the lower and upper houses began at 1 p.m.
Last Updated ( Monday, 05 September 2011 22:45 )  

Download Mobile App