Friday, 15 November 2019

Mizzima News

Home > News > Inside Burma > Supreme Court judges nominated; Lun Maung new auditor general

Supreme Court judges nominated; Lun Maung new auditor general

Chiang Mai (Mizzima) – Burmese President Thein Sein nominated six people as judges of the Union Supreme Court in a joint session of Parliament on Tuesday.

The Burmese Parliament in Naypyidaw will take a rare break on Wednesday to allow lawmakers more time to study nominees, according to lawmakers. The Parliament has met each day in a process to form new government ministries and nominate ministers. Photo : MRTVTun Tun Oo, who previously served as deputy chief justice on the Naypyidaw Supreme Court, was appointed chief justice of the Union Supreme Court on February 17.

In other business, Lun Maung was unanimously approved as the auditor general during the Parliamentary session.

The six supreme court nominees are former Union Election Commission member Tha Htay; Soe Nyunt (the former director of the Civil Cases Department of the Supreme Court in Naypyidaw); Mya Thein (the former director of the Managing Department of the Supreme Court in Naypyidaw); Rangoon Regional High Court judge Myint Aung; Deputy General Manager Aung Zaw Thein of the bonds management and planning department in Naypyidaw; and Deputy Director Myint Han of the Ministry of Mining Sai Saung Si, according to Khin Shwe, a lawmaker in the Upper House from the Shan Nationalities Democratic Party.

On February 15, Thein Sein announced that seven judges would  be appointed to the Supreme Court and the motion was approved by the Parliament on February 16.

The session lasted about15 minutes.

The Union Parliament will be in recess until 11 a.m. on Thursday, in order to give lawmakers enough time to study the nominations for judges, according to Khin Shwe.

Similarly, a chief justice and six judges of the High Court of the Rangoon Regional Assembly were approved on Monday.

Win Swe, a director of the criminal justice department of the Rangoon Division High Court, was approved as chief justice of the High Court of the Rangoon Region.

The six judges of the High Court of the Rangoon Region are Myo Myint (joint director of the crime justice department of Rangoon Division High Court); Hla Aye (director of service personnel department,  Supreme Court in Naypyidaw); Sandar Thwe (joint director, High Court in Rangoon); Soe Soe Aung (joint justice, High Court  in Rangoon); Than Than Aye (West Pegu Region High Court judge, Prome); and Thin Thin Nwe (joint director, civil suit justice department, Rangoon Division High Court).

Last Updated ( Tuesday, 22 February 2011 19:10 )  

Download Mobile App