Thursday, 14 November 2019

Mizzima News

Home > News > Inside Burma > Rangoon Regional Assembly elects advocate-general, auditor general

Rangoon Regional Assembly elects advocate-general, auditor general

New Delhi (Mizzima) – After nominations were made by Rangoon Regional Assembly Chief Minister Myint Swe, Kyaw Moe Naing was approved as advocate-general and Myint Aung was approved as auditor general, in unanimous votes.

The new Burmese Parliament building in Naypyidaw. Photo : MRTVKyaw Moe Naing is from Thingangyun Township, and Myint Aung is from Insein Township.

The Constitution stipulates that the chief minister of a region or state may nominate an advocate-general and auditor general from either legislators or private citizens with the approval of the local legislature.

Similarly, on Monday, Myint Swe nominated an 11-member cabinet and nine ministries to form the Rangoon Region government.

Nominated as ministers were Colonel Tin Win; retired ambassador Hla Myint; retired Colonel Nyan Tun Oo (brother-in-law of People’s Parliament Deputy Speaker Nanda Kyaw Swa); Soe Min, Kyaw Soe, Than Myint, Aung Khin, San San Nwe and Dr. Myint Thein.

The  ministries are:

1. Security and Border Affairs
2. City Development Ministry
3. Education/Health/Foreign Affairs/Immigration
4. Agriculture/Commerce/ Labour
5. Electricity/Energy/Construction/Industry Ministry
6. Finance and Revenue/Forestry/Livestock and Fishery
7. Culture/Religion Ministry
8. Transport/Communication/Post and Telegraph Ministry
9. Social Welfare/Hotel and Tourism

Legislator and Karen People’s Party chairman Saw Tun Aung Myint, and  Rakhine legislator Zaw Aye Maung were nominated as ethnic affairs ministers in the Rangoon Regional government.

Last Updated ( Friday, 18 February 2011 22:35 )  

Download Mobile App


Who is Online

We have 59 guests online


Amount in USD:

Follow Mizzima on

Follow Mizzima on TwitterFollow Mizzima on Facebook