Monday, 18 November 2019

Mizzima News

Home > News > Inside Burma > Chief ministers of regions, states to be approved Monday

Chief ministers of regions, states to be approved Monday

Chiang Mai  (Mizzima) – Burmese President Thein Sein has nominated 14 people, mostly former USDP members or retired military officers, to serve as chief ministers of regions and states.

thein-sein-CLMVThe nominees are scheduled to be approved by the Union Parliament on Monday.

Most of the nominees are members of the junta-backed Union Solidarity and Development Party (USDP), which was led by Thein Sein prior to his being elected president.

Zaw Min, the former chairman of the Karen State Peace and Development Council, was nominated to be the chief minister of Karen State, according to Saw Tun Aung Myint of the Kyain People’s Party.

Hone Ngai, a former brigadier general and chairman of  the Chin State Peace and Development Council, from Mindat Township, was nominated to be chief  minister of Chin State.

Sao Aung Myat, a member of the USDP and a retired military officer, was nominated as chief minister of Shan State.

An unofficial list of  nominees includes:  

(1)  Kachin State: La John Ngan Sai
(2)  Karenni State: Khin Maung Oo
(3)  Karen State: Zaw Min
(4)  Chin State: Hone Ngai
(5)  Mon State: Ohn Myint
(6)  Arakan State: Hla Maung Tin
(7)  Shan State: Sao Aung Myat
(8)  Rangoon Division: Myint Swe
(9)  Sagaing Division: Tha Aye
(10) Taninsarim Division: Khin Zaw
(11) Pegu Division: Nyan Win
(12) Magway Division: Phone Maw Shwe
(13) Mandalay Division: Ye Myint
(14) Irrawaddy Division: Thein Aung


Download Mobile App