Monday, 18 November 2019

Mizzima News

Home > News > Inside Burma > Parliament forms Constitutional Tribunal; approves Cabinet members

Parliament forms Constitutional Tribunal; approves Cabinet members

Chiang Mai (Mizzima) – Nine judges were named to form the Constitutional Tribunal during a joint session of Parliament on Friday in Naypyidaw. Most of the judges are academics or legal experts.

President Thein Sein speaks during the 5th Cambodia-Laos-Myanmar-Vietnam summit at the council of ministers in Phnom Penh on November 16, 2010. On Friday, he presided over a joint session of Parliament which approved a nine-judge Constitutional Tribunal.  AFP PHOTO/STRThein Soe, the current Union Election Commission (EC) chairman, was appointed chairman of the tribunal.

The constitutional tribunal was formed on the basis of  three judges selected by President Thein Sein, three judges selected by the Speaker of Lower House, Thura Shwe Mahn, and three judges selected by the Speaker of the Upper House, Khin Aung Myint.

The judges selected by Thein Sein were Thein Soe, Union Election Commission member and former Economic Institute Rector Dr. Tin Aung Aye  and Supreme Court Crime Department Director Khin Hla Myint.

The judges selected by the speaker of the Upper House were Supreme Court retired director Tun Kyi, retired director Soe Thein and retired director Khin Tun.

The judges selected by the Lower House speaker were Revenue Appeals Court Director San Myint, region law officer and director Myint Kyaing and retired deputy director Mi Mi Yee.

“This tribunal will hear and make judgments on constitutional issues and disputes, but they didn’t spell out the functions and jurisdictions of the tribunal in detail’, said USDP party MP Khin Shwe.

According to Chapter 2 of the Constitutional Tribunal Law, the functions and duties of the tribunal are interpreting the provisions of the Constitution, vetting whether the laws promulgated by Parliament are in conformity with the Constitution, deciding constitutional disputes between the lower and upper houses and other local assemblies and deciding on rights and functions of state, region or self-administered divisions or zones.

In other parliamentary actions on Friday, the Union cabinet members that were nominated by President Thein Sein this week were approved without objection in a joint session of Parliament.

However, no action was taken on assigning cabinet members to their specific ministries or  portfolios.

Out of the 30 cabinet members, four are civilians.  Most are current ministers and generals serving in the armed forces.

The Cabinet members are:

1. Lieutenant General Ko Ko
2. Major General Hla Min
3. Major General Thein Htay
4. Wunna Maung Lwin
5. Myint Hlaing
6. Kyaw San
7. Win Myint
8. Tint San
9. Khin Maung Myint
10. Thein Tun
11. Hla Tun
12. Thein Htike
13. Nyan Tun Aung
14. Tin Naing Thein
15. Win Tun
16. Aung Kyi
17. Ohn Myint
18. Kyaw Swa Khaing
19. Soe Thein
20. Than Htay
21. Aung Min
22. Dr. Mya Aye
23. Dr. Pe Thet Khin
24. Aye Myint
25. Thura Myint Maung
26. Khin Yi
27. Zaw Min
28. Khin Maung Soe
29. Thein Nyunt
30. Soe Maung

Last Updated ( Friday, 11 February 2011 19:27 )  

Download Mobile App