Thursday, 14 November 2019

Mizzima News

Home > News > Inside Burma > Thein Sein submits ministry list to form new government

Thein Sein submits ministry list to form new government

Chiang Mai (Mizzima) – Thirty-four ministries are on the appointment list that was submitted to the new Parliament by President Thein Sein on Tuesday.

The list, which essentially creates a new government, is expected to be announced and approved in a joint session of the Upper and Lower houses on Wednesday, according to sources.

The 34 ministries reportedly include Defence, Home, Border Affairs, Information, Agriculture, Construction, Communication, National Economy, Social Welfare, Forestry, Transport, Mining, Labour, Hotel, Livestock and Fishery, No. 1 Industry, No. 2 Industry, Energy, No. 1 Electrical Power, No. 2 Electrical Power, Education, Culture, Religion, Science, Immigration, Sports, Presidential Office, Myanmar Industry and Industrial Development Ministry.

If a lawmaker wants to object to any of the ministries proposed by the president, they must submit a written objection to the Parliament, stating the reasons.

The new ministries are expected to officially assume their administrative functions in March, sources said.

Observers said that the appointment of ministers and the naming of the government’s cabinet could take place on Wednesday, but that could not be confirmed.

The chief ministers of states and regions will reportedly be senior military officers who have experience in the respective regions and states, such as Major General Myint Shwe in the Rangoon Region, Lieutenant General Ye Myint in the Mandalay Region and Major General Thar Aye in the Sagaing Region,  sources said.

In other Parliament-related news, sources said that for questions and motions to be raised or moved in Parliament, questions must be submitted 10 days in advance and motions must be submitted 15 days in advance. The questions and motions will be forwarded to respective officials and ministries.

Meanwhile, in news involving political parties, President Then Sein hosted a dinner for more than 300 USDP MPs at the party’s headquarters on Monday evening. In an address to party members, he said that work should begin now on preparations for the next general election to be held  five years from now.

A source said: ‘He told us to fulfill the promises made to the people during our election campaigns, outreach to the grassroots people and fulfill their needs, perform our duties well at our designated places, enhance our organisational work at the constituencies where we lost in this election and lay down a plan for the next general election’.

Sources also said that new USDP vice presidents have replaced Thura Shwe Mahn, Thihathura Tin Aung Myint Oo and Tin Aye.  Their names were not available.

Dr. Aye Maung, the chairman of the Rakhine Nationalities Development Party, said the USDP party secretary and Agriculture Minister Htay Oo is likely to assume the USDP chairman post that was held by Thein Sein, who resigned when he was elected president of Parliament.


Download Mobile App