Tuesday, 19 November 2019

Mizzima News

Home > News > Inside Burma > Parties to hold joint ceremony to mark Union Day

Parties to hold joint ceremony to mark Union Day

Chiang Mai (Mizzima) – Ten political parties, including ethnic parties which contested in the recent elections, will hold a joint ceremony to mark the 64th anniversary of Union Day in Rangoon, which falls on February 12 this year.

The ten parties are the National Democratic Force (NDF), Shan Nationalities Democratic Party, Rakhine Nationalities Democratic Party, Chin National Party, Union Democratic Party, Democracy and Peace Party, United Democracy Party, Phalon-Sawaw Democratic Party, Democratic Party (Myanmar), and Union of Myanmar Federation of National Politics.

An organizing committee met on Tuesday in the headquarters of the Democratic Party (Myanmar) in Botahtaung Township in Rangoon.

The parties have not yet decided on the date to hold the ceremony.

Similarly, the National League for Democracy will hold a ceremony to mark Union Day at the NLD headquarters on Shwegondine Road in Bahan Township in Rangoon.

The military government  will hold a ceremony in Naypyidaw.

NDF leader Khin Maung Swe told Mizzima that his party will also hold a formal ceremony to mark the 64th anniversary at the party headquarters in Tarmway Township in Rangoon, and at the party office in Mandalay.

Union Day in Burma is held in recognition of February 12, 1947, nearly a year before Burma achieved independence from the British, when the Burmese government under Aung San, who was Aung San Suu Kyi’s father, and representatives of the  Shan, Kachin and Chin peoples signed the Panglong Agreement.

Last Updated ( Monday, 07 February 2011 21:21 )  

Download Mobile App