Sunday, 17 November 2019

Mizzima News

Home > News > Inside Burma > Heat wave conditions to force change in university timings

Heat wave conditions to force change in university timings

New Delhi (Mizzima) – Heat wave conditions are likely to force changes in timings of Technical Universities in three Divisions, in keeping with a Ministry of Science and Technology directive early this month.

The maximum day temperatures hovered between 42 to 45 degree Celsius in Magwe, Mandalay and Sagaing Divisions this month.

The timings of three Technology Universities in Mandalay, Sagaing and Magwe Divisions in the tropical zone, are likely to be changed.

The normal timings for classes of six out of seven TUs are from 8 am to 11 am and noon to 4 pm. The timings of six TUs will be from 7 am to 11 am as of this week.

“TUs in three States have an advisory from the Ministry in advance. Though there have been no cases of fever so far, students are unable to stay in classrooms for long durations due to profuse sweating and exhaustion. Diarrhoea and other diseases may break out because of the intense heat,” Mechanical Engineering Department Head Dr. Thant Zin Win from Kyaukse TU in Mandalay Division told Mizzima.

“The heat is making it difficult for us to teach. Earlier we could take three lessons but now we can take only one. We need to take frequent breaks while teaching, delaying the completion of the syllabus. So we need to expedite teaching when the weather is tolerable,” he added.

Similarly TUs in Kalay and Mon Ywa in Sagaing Division have changed their class timings.

“Our school changed the timings because it’s too hot. Since there are no air conditioners in classrooms we cannot stay long. There are about 60 students in each classroom with only one ceiling fan. We suffer exhaustion,” a woman second year student from Kalay TU said.

There are Mandalay, Kyaukse and Meiktila TUs in Mandalay Division, Mon Ywa and Kalay TUs in Sagaing Division, Magwe and Pakokku TUs in Magwe Division. Magwe TU did not change its timings.

“Our school did not change the school timings despite an advisory from the Science and Technology Ministry. The directive says the TUs may change their school timings as the weather is too hot. But the students do not want to change the school timings,” a woman teacher from Magwe TU said.

TUs were first set up in 1998 and there are now 20 Technological Universities in Irrawaddy, Sagaing, Mandalay, Magwe, Tanintharyi, Pegu and Rangoon Divisions and Kayah, Karen, Mon, Kachin, Shan and Rakhine States.

(Reported by Salai Tun)


Download Mobile App


Who is Online

We have 71 guests online


Amount in USD:

Follow Mizzima on

Follow Mizzima on TwitterFollow Mizzima on Facebook