Friday, 15 November 2019

Mizzima News

Home > News > Inside Burma > Ten of NLD’s new CC members still languishing in prisons

Ten of NLD’s new CC members still languishing in prisons

Chiang Mai (Mizzima) – Several political prisoners languishing in jails across Burma are among the newly announced 100 members of the expanded central committee of the National League for Democracy (NLD) in Burma.

Among the detained by the junta are 10 NLD members including Members of Parliament elected in 1990.

The detained members include two from central Burma’s Mandalay city, four from Western Burma’s Arakan state, one from Shan State and three others from Sagaing division. They are currently held in Rangoon’s Insein prison, Putao and Myitkyina jails in Northern Burma’s Kachin State, Thayet, Taunggyi of  Shan State and Mandalay.

The NLD party leadership in Rangoon said on Wednesday that it is preparing to call a meeting of the 100 central committee members and eight auxiliary members for assigning of portfolios.

“There would be some working for human rights; some working along with the ILO, some working on the economic sector alongside international committees, among other portfolios. The central committee would be into all this,” Win Tin, a central executive committee member of the NLD, told Mizzima.

Khin Maung Shwe, another CEC member, said it was encouraging to have a central committee, which the NLD had never had for a very long time.

Though the NLD had formed its central committee with 80 members, the committee remained defunct after the junta arrested and detained several members in 1997.


Download Mobile App