Monday, 20 January 2020

Mizzima News

Home > News > Inside Burma > Burma applies to host AFC President's Cup

Burma applies to host AFC President's Cup

New Delhi (Mizzima) –The Myanmar Football Federation has applied to host the Asian Football Confederation (AFC) President's Cup 2010 tournament.

Earlier this year Burmese league winners Yadanabon approached the Myanmar Football Federation to host the tournament and in support of their bid the MFF applied to the AFC.   "We informed the AFC last week and we will know the result in April", an MFF staff person told Mizzima regarding the bid.

Yadanabon team won the Myanmar National League (MNL) trophy last September when they finished top of the league in points.  As league winners Yadanabon is eligible to compete in the AFC President's Cup tournament to be played from 6-16 May. 
"We are determined to win this trophy for the pride and dignity of our country. I think Burma can host such a tournament and it will uplift the pride and dignity of our country", Yadanabon club CEO Han Min Tun said. 

The requirement to host the tournament are having two football pitches with 2 to 4 dressing room, 4 training grounds and accommodation for officials from AFC and other guests. The host team must present all these facilities along with their application to the AFC.

"We presented them Thuwunna and Aung San stadiums in Rangoon as two football pitches and the Goal Hotel as accommodation. Mandalay is not convenient for the tournament and the facilities in Mandalay do not meet the standard and requirements of the AFC", an MFF staffer said.

Group stage matches of AFC Cup 2009 were played in Nepal, Bangladesh and Kyrgyzstan and the semi-final and final matches were played in Tajikistan. The defending champion is Regar Tad AZ from Tajikistan. 

The AFC President's Cup has been played since 2005.  For the tournament the AFC invites the league winners and second place finishers from 8 countries. 

Starting from 2008, AFC expanded its invitation list to Burma, Bangladesh and Turkmenistan. Kanbawza club representing Shan State contested the AFC President's Cup in 2008 and 2009 but lost in the group stage and did not advance.


Download Mobile App