Saturday, 14 December 2019

Mizzima News

Home > News > By-Election 2012 > NLD will hold 6.4 per cent of seats in Burmese Parliament

NLD will hold 6.4 per cent of seats in Burmese Parliament

(Mizzima) – The final, official by-election results announced by the Burmese Union Election Commission on Tuesday gave the National League for Democracy Party (NLD) 6.4 per cent of the seats in  Parliament.

The NLD won a total of 43 seats in the April 1  by-election.

The NLD contested for a total of 44 vacant seats. It won 37 seats in the Lower House, four seats in the Upper House and two seats in state or regional assemblies.  
Dr. Myat Nyarna Soe of National Democratic Force (NDF) won a seat in the Upper House in 2010, and he later joined the NLD, giving it a total of five Upper House seats, making the NLD representation in Parliament 44 seats.

According to the Constitution, there should be 224 parliamentarians in the Upper house and 440 parliamentarians in Lower House. However, there are a total 224 MPs in Upper House and 432 MPs in Lower House. The total parliamentarians in Parliament will be 656.

The EC announcement said Shan Nationalities Democratic Party candidate Sai San Min won the Shan State No. 3 constituency Upper House seat; and Union Solidarity and Development Party candidate Tin Mya won the Sagaing Region constituency no. 7 Upper House seat, respectively.
Last Updated ( Thursday, 05 April 2012 15:20 )  

Download Mobile App