Monday, 18 November 2019

Mizzima News

Home > News > By-Election 2012 > NLD nominates Tin Oo and Suu Kyi

NLD nominates Tin Oo and Suu Kyi

Rangoon (Mizzima) – Tin Oo and Aung San Suu Kyi will be nominated first leader and second leader, respectively, of the re-formed National League for Democracy (NLD) when it registers in Naypyitaw.

Aung San Suu Kyi leaves a meeting of the 21 founders of the reformed National League for Democracy on Monday, December 19, 2011, in Rangoon. The party nominated Tin Oo and her as first leader and second leader, respectively. They will go to Naypyitaw soon to re-register the party. Photo: MizzimaThe decision was announced on Monday following a meeting in Rangoon of the 21 founders of the new NLD.

The two senior leaders will go to Naypyitaw soon to register the party with the Union Election Commission (UEC), according to NLD spokesman Nyan Win.

“The first leader is Tin Oo and the second leader is Aung San Suu Kyi,” he said. He declined to say when they would go to Naypyitaw.

The NLD has not yet selected candidates to run in the by-election, he said, because the UEC has not fixed a date to hold the elections.

“We have to wait until it announces [the date],” Nyan Win said. “But, it has told us to conduct canvassing.”

Nyan Win said that although NLD campaigning has not started, it is confident that its candidates will do well in the by-election.

Suu Kyi announced earlier that she will run for a seat in Parliament, where she is expected to be a major new opposition force. Many opposition parties have indicated they pan to form political alliances to gain more influence in the legislative process.

Currently, Burma has 37 registered political parties. Ten new parties have applied for registration.
Last Updated ( Monday, 19 December 2011 19:14 )  

Download Mobile App