Tuesday, 19 November 2019

Mizzima News

Home > News > By-Election 2012 > 10-party Burmese coalition meets with ruling USDP

10-party Burmese coalition meets with ruling USDP

Chiang Mai (Mizzima) – The 10-party coalition, The Friends of Democracy group, has asked the ruling Union Solidarity and Development Party (USDP) to inform all political parties prior to submitting proposed bills to Parliament.

Dr. Than Nyein, chairman of the National Democratic Force party Photo: MizzimaDr. Than Nyein, the National Democratic Force chairman, said informing other parties before submission would make the legislative body more efficient because many smaller parties do not have time to do last-minute research.
The USDP called the meeting, in which its members discussed the farm ownership bill, which has passed the Lower House, political prisoners and how to resolve ethnic fighting and political disagreements.

Than Nyein said, “We told the USDP to inform us prior to a bill’s submission. For example, the farm bill was approved by the Lower House without informing us and now the bill is in the Upper House. We have to review it and make suggestions very fast.”
USDP MP Htay Oo submitted a farm ownership bill to the Lower House on August 30.
One of the reasons the meeting was called, lawmakers said, was to share views outside of Parliament.

On October 6, the Upper House decided to continue discussions about the farm ownership bill prior to offering amendments, because the Karen, Phalon Sawaw and the Shan Nationalities Democratic Party could not attend previous meetings to discuss the bill.

Rakhine Nationalities Development Party General-Secretary Oo Hla Saw said, “They offered us a meeting with General-Secretary Htay Oo in Naypyitaw.”
Members of the coalition who have attended recent meetings with the USDP include Thu Wai and Than Than Nu of the Democratic Party (Myanmar), Dr. Than Nyein and Dr. Win Naing of the National Democratic Force, Thein Tin Aung of the Union Democracy Party, Myo Nyunt and Aung Than of the Democracy and Peace Party, Tun Shwe from Unity and Peace Party, Nai Khin Maung of the All Mon Region Democracy Party.
Last Updated ( Wednesday, 07 December 2011 12:18 )  

Download Mobile App