Monday, 09 December 2019

Mizzima News

Home > News > Breaking and News Brief > Thein Sein and Sai Mauk Kham elected as vice presidents

Thein Sein and Sai Mauk Kham elected as vice presidents

Chiang Mai (Mizzima) – Thein Sein and Sai Mauk Kham, two lawmakers of the Union Solidarity and Development Party (USDP), were elected as vice presidents on Thursday.

men-listen-radioIn the presidential election conducted by the People’s Parliament (Lower House) in Naypyidaw, the current Prime Minister Thein Sein defeated Saw Thein Aung from the Phalon-Sawaw Democratic Party, by 276 to 38 votes.

In the National Parliament (Upper House), Sai Mauk Kham defeated Dr. Aye Maung from the Rakhine National Development Party, by 140 to 27 votes.

On Friday, the President of Burma will be elected from the three newly elected vice presidents, Thein Sein and Sai Mauk Kham, and a vice president elected from the military-appointed members of Parliament.

Some sources in Naypyidaw said that the parliamentary representatives of the military elected Thiha Thura Tin Aung Myint Oo as vice president. But, the junta’s media have not issued information about the presidential elections.

In accordance with the 2008 Constitution, there will be a president and two vice presidents in Burma.

Last Updated ( Thursday, 03 February 2011 18:10 )  
The Kachin’s last stand
Since October this year, Burma has been in a state of civil war, with fighting between Burmese military and armed ethnic rebels. The ruling junta started a crackdown on these armed groups.

Download Mobile App